Breakthrough Spotlight Logo (1)

Welcome to Breakthrough Spotlight, a video and podcast series featuring conversations with community leaders, activists, artists and partner organizations working to build a world that is more equitable, inclusive, and sustainable for all.

#BreakthroughSpotlight

Women Make Movies

Wednesday, April 16, 1 p.m. ET | 10 a.m. PT

For over 45 years, Women Make Movies has been championing women filmmakers and their stories. They support women producers and directors from the beginning, planting the seeds for a diverse and inclusive filmmaking landscape. As the world’s leading distributor of independent films by and about women, they amplify historically ignored voices and challenge the mainstream media.

Hosted by Moni Vargas, Director of Programs, Breakthrough
Featuring Debra Zimmerman, Executive Director, Women Make Movies

Mental Health in a Pandemic

Wednesday, May 6, 1 p.m. ET | 10 a.m. PT

On this episode, world renowned cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) expert and lecturer, Dr. Leslie Sokol, shares practical ways to improve our wellness during Covid-19 and prepare ourselves for life post shelter-at-home.

Hosted by Moni Vargas, Director of Programs, Breakthrough
Featuring Dr. Leslie Sokol, Licensed Psychologist

Caregiving in a Pandemic

Friday, May 8, 1 p.m. ET | 10 a.m. PT

In this conversation, we spotlight Caring Across Generations and the National Domestic Workers Alliance, doing essential advocacy for family caregivers & domestic workers during COVID-19.

Hosted by Priya Kvam, Associate Director of Partnerships, Breakthrough
Featuring Ishita Srivastava, Caring Across Generations
& Kristina Mevs-Apgar, National Domestic Workers Alliance

Alternative Models of Care

Wednesday, May 13, 2 p.m. ET | 11 a.m. PT

In this conversation, we spotlight the downsides to the state’s criminalizing responses to public health crises, and alternative models of care that keep communities safe.

Hosted by Hari Ziyad, Content Strategist, Breakthrough
Featuring Ted Kerr, Founding Member, W.W.H.I.V.D.D.
& Ceyenne Doroshow, Founder and Executive Director, G.L.I.T.S.

Loira Limbal YT

Who Cares for the Caregivers?

Friday, May 22, 2 p.m. ET | 11 a.m. PT

In this conversation, we spotlight Loira Limbal and her work on Through the Night, a documentary that highlights the "personal cost of our modern economy through the stories of two working mothers and a child care provider, whose lives intersect at a 24-hour daycare center."

Hosted by Moni Vargas, Creative Director, Breakthrough
Featuring Loira Limbal, Director/Producer, Through the Night

Disability Justice: Then & Now

Wednesday, May 27, 12:30 p.m. ET | 9:30 a.m. PT

In this conversation, we spotlight disability rights and experiences of disabled people under COVID-19.

Hosted by Priya Kvam, Associate Director of Partnerships, Breakthrough
Featuring Doris Quintanilla, The Melanin Collective
& Ola Ojewumi, Project ASCEND